Sundogs News


Prescott Valley, AZ – The Arizona Sundogs received honors at the 18th annual Central Hockey League (CHL) Award Banquet. The annual CHL Conference concluded Friday evening, July 19 at the Arizona Biltmore in Phoenix, as members from all 10 teams came together to honor and celebrate the top executives and achievements during the 2012-13 season.

The Arizona Sundogs won awards in two of the five categories they were nominated in, including Community Relations Franchise of the Year and the Ralph Backstrom soul of Service Award presented to Lew Rees, for his tremendous service and contributions to the Sundogs Organization.

Assistant General Manager, Ashley Stovall shared, “We we’re very excited to be honored at this year’s award banquet. It meant a lot to us for the league to recognize our hard work and dedication to growing and providing quality entertainment. Our efforts in the community are top priority to us. We understand that without the support of our fellow community members and residents that we wouldn’t be here. Lew has been a significant part of moving our team in the right direction and with the leadership from Chris and our front office staff we continue to push forward to make this team something our town can be proud of.”

Here is a complete list of all award recipients:

Ralph Backstrom Soul of Service Award – Lew Rees, Arizona Sundogs
CHL Game Operations Franchise of the Year – Wichita Thunder
CHL Merchandising Franchise of the Year – Denver Cutthroats
CHL Community Relations Franchise of the Year – Arizona Sundogs
CHL New Media Franchise of the Year – Denver Cutthroats
CHL Broadcaster of the Year – Bob Rennison, Missouri Mavericks
CHL Communications Executive of the Year – Jason Mals, Wichita Thunder
CHL Corporate Partnership Team of the Year – Missouri Mavericks
CHL Group Sales Franchise of the Year – Missouri Mavericks
CHL Ticketing Executive of the Year – Luke Schuellein, Wichita Thunder
CHL Ticket Sales Franchise of the Year – Missouri Mavericks
Rick Kozuback Award – Greg Smith, Denver Cutthroats
CHL Leadership Award – Rodney Steven, Wichita Thunder
CHL Most Improved Franchise – Wichita Thunder
Brad Treliving CHL Executive of the Year – Brent Thiessen, Missouri Mavericks
CHL Franchise of the Year – Missouri Mavericks

The Arizona Sundogs are the Central Hockey League affiliate of the NHL’s Phoenix Coyotes. Season tickets, mini-plan, and single-game ticket information is now available by calling (928) 759-6600 or visiting


Search Archive »

Browse by Year »