Sundogs News


GLENDALE, AZ (March 19, 2014) – The Central Hockey League (CHL) announced today the five finalists for the 2014 CHL Man of the Year award. The finalists were selected from nominations and materials provided from the 10 member teams that detailed the player’s role in their communities. Teams were permitted to nominate one candidate from their squad and of those nominations, five finalists were selected. The winner will be announced on Tuesday, March 25.

The CHL Man of the Year award is ‘presented annually to the Central Hockey League player adjudged to have best exemplified strong leadership qualities on and off the ice, while making significant and noteworthy humanitarian contributions to his community’.

The five finalists for the 2014 CHL Man of the Year award are Sebastian Geoffrion of the Arizona Sundogs, Calin Wild of the Brampton Beast, Sean Zimmerman of the Denver Cutthroats, Ben Gordon of the Tulsa Oilers and RG Flath of the Wichita Thunder.

Man of the Year Finalists
Sebastian Geoffrion, Arizona
Calin Wild, Brampton
Sean Zimmerman, Denver
Ben Gordon, Tulsa
RG Flath, Wichita

CHL Man of the Year (previous winners, since 2001)
2013 – Travis Wight (Wichita)
2012 – Riley Weselowski (Rapid City)
2011 – Simon Watson (Missouri)
2010 – Justin Quenneville (Corpus Christi)
2009 – Austin Sutter (Amarillo)
2008 – Stacey Bauman (Oklahoma City)
2007 – Riley Nelson (Colorado)
2006 – Paul Fioroni (Lubbock)
2005 – Paul Fioroni (Lubbock)
2004 – Don Parsons (Memphis)
2003 – Anthony Donskov (Lubbock)
2002 – Scott Hillman (Odessa)

The Arizona Sundogs are the Central Hockey League affiliate of the NHL’s Phoenix Coyotes. Season tickets, mini-plan, and single-game ticket information is now available by calling (928) 759-6600 or visiting

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »